My deplorable lunches

I work in an industrial park. It’s completely encircled by fast food places dangling their wares in front of the thousands of people working around here. Off the top of my head, I can think of McDonald’s, Wendy’s, Burger King, Subway, Dunkin’ Donuts, Sonic, Taco Bell, Del Taco, KFC, Jack In the Box, plus a bunch of mom-n-pop ethnic places and smaller local chains. And there are tons of fast-casual and sit-down restaurants, too.

I almost never eat at these places. Once in a great while I’ll have lunch with an industry contact or journalist, and my wife will come to visit me for lunch occasionally (though we’ve lately turned that into a nice outdoor picnic). I’m a low-carb eater so it’s difficult for me to eat at any of those places without being that guy, but I don’t want to spend the money anyway. I pack my lunch every morning. Actually, I pack breakfast, lunch and snacks. Sue me, I’m a pig that way.

It seems like common sense, and maybe it used to be, but my lunches are just dinner leftovers. I plan my weekly meals so that every low-carb dinner will also make at least one low-carb lunch. Saves money, saves time, and keeps me out of the fast food places with their high-carb, low-nutrition, empty-calorie meals. I eat good food for lunch – real meals. A few recent examples:

  • Chicken salad over spinach
  • Chicken or tuna salad on low-carb wrap
  • Taco salad (I love Hispanics!)
  • Baked chicken breast and vegetables
  • Hearty chicken stew (so easy and good that I should post the recipe)

These are way better than the scrawny ham or bologna sandwiches I see some of my colleagues bringing to work. They’re also more nutritious and cheaper than the fast-food or fast-casual meals I see a lot of people bringing back to the office. Despite a strange weakness for Whoppers (sue me) that I always resist, I have no desire to eat out for lunch.

Don’t even get me started on coffee.

I am a deplorable consumer.

Leave a Reply

