My deplorable phone

My company gives me a new cell phone every couple of years. They let me pick, within reason. Last time, two or three years ago, it was a Droid Mini. I still have it, and it generally works fine. I’m not 100% happy with the texting keypad and the outside is a little slippery, but other than that it’s fine. It makes calls, sends texts, navigates, browses the web, and has a bunch of apps (95% of which I never use).

People literally stand in long physical lines to buy the latest iPhone. I remember standing in a line like that to see Return of the Jedi when I was a kid. But I was a kid, with nothing better to do with my time on a Saturday afternoon. Early adopters of the Galaxy Note7 were rewarded for being on the cutting edge with phones that were actually miniature IEDs.

I have no desire for a new phone, or to wait in line for one that’s 3% different from the one I have in my pocket right now. I’ve never bought an app. I never even think about it.

I am a deplorable consumer.

Leave a Reply

